{"id":7342,"date":"2026-10-06T21:51:12","date_gmt":"2026-10-06T21:51:12","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/nmc-registration-cost-overseas-nurses\/"},"modified":"2026-10-06T21:54:02","modified_gmt":"2026-10-06T21:54:02","slug":"nmc-registration-cost-overseas-nurses","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/nmc-registration-cost-overseas-nurses\/","title":{"rendered":"What NMC registration costs for overseas nurses"},"content":{"rendered":"<nav class=\"crumbs\" aria-label=\"Breadcrumb\"><a href=\"\/uk\/\">Home<\/a> \u203a NMC registration cost<\/nav>\n<p><span class=\"kicker\">The real route<\/span><\/p>\n<h1>What NMC registration costs for overseas nurses<\/h1>\n<div class=\"answer\"><strong>Short answer:<\/strong> The NMC&#8217;s costs page shows a total of \u00a31,226 for the overseas route from 1 October 2026 (checked 4 October 2026). That is qualification evaluation \u00a3167, CBT \u00a383, OSCE \u00a3794 and the registration fee \u00a3182. It excludes visa, flights and accommodation.<\/div>\n<p class=\"meta\">Last reviewed: <time datetime=\"2026-10-05\">2026-10-05<\/time> \u00b7 By <a href=\"\/uk\/authors\/\">Mark Dent<\/a><\/p>\n<nav class=\"toc\" aria-label=\"On this page\"><strong>On this page<\/strong><\/p>\n<ol>\n<li><a href=\"#s1\">The fees in full<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"#s2\">Older figures you may meet<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"#s3\">What the total leaves out<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"#s4\">Budgeting, step by step<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"#s5\">Using the figures to test an agent<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"#faq\">Frequently asked questions<\/a><\/li>\n<\/ol>\n<\/nav>\n<div class=\"keyfacts\"><strong>Key facts, read from the NMC costs page on 5 October 2026<\/strong><\/p>\n<ul>\n<li>The NMC states a total cost of fees and tests of &pound;1,226 for people who need the Test of Competence.<\/li>\n<li>That total excludes visa, flights and UK travel expenses.<\/li>\n<li>The NMC says fees rose on 1 October 2026, the first rise in registration fees for 11 years.<\/li>\n<li>Some other NMC pages still show older figures, so use the costs page and check the date.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<\/div>\n<h2 id=\"s1\">The fees in full<\/h2>\n<table>\n<thead>\n<tr>\n<th>Step<\/th>\n<th>Fee<\/th>\n<th>Paid to<\/th>\n<th>Refundable?<\/th>\n<\/tr>\n<\/thead>\n<tbody>\n<tr>\n<td>Qualification evaluation<\/td>\n<td>&pound;167<\/td>\n<td>NMC<\/td>\n<td>No<\/td>\n<\/tr>\n<tr>\n<td>Computer-based test (CBT)<\/td>\n<td>&pound;83<\/td>\n<td>Test provider<\/td>\n<td>Not stated<\/td>\n<\/tr>\n<tr>\n<td>OSCE<\/td>\n<td>&pound;794<\/td>\n<td>Test provider<\/td>\n<td>Not stated<\/td>\n<\/tr>\n<tr>\n<td>Registration<\/td>\n<td>&pound;182<\/td>\n<td>NMC<\/td>\n<td>In certain circumstances<\/td>\n<\/tr>\n<tr>\n<td>Total<\/td>\n<td>&pound;1,226<\/td>\n<td><\/td>\n<td><\/td>\n<\/tr>\n<\/tbody>\n<\/table>\n<p>The four lines add up to the stated total. Resits cost extra: the CBT &pound;83 for a full resit, the OSCE &pound;794 for a full resit or &pound;397 for a partial one; see <a href=\"\/uk\/nmc-cbt-osce-test-of-competence\/\">the CBT and OSCE<\/a>.<\/p>\n<h2 id=\"s2\">Older figures you may meet<\/h2>\n<p>We have seen two earlier sets on NMC pages. The information page for internationally trained applicants still lists &pound;140 for the qualification evaluation, &pound;153 for registration and a &pound;1,170 total, and the step-by-step guide mentions a &pound;140 evaluation fee. Those are the figures from before 1 October 2026. The costs page is the one that shows the current amounts, and it is worth printing or saving with the date you read it.<\/p>\n<h2 id=\"s3\">What the total leaves out<\/h2>\n<ul class=\"check\">\n<li>Visa and immigration health charges<\/li>\n<li>Flights and UK travel for the OSCE and any resits<\/li>\n<li>Accommodation while you are in the UK<\/li>\n<li>English language test fees<\/li>\n<li>Any recruiter or agency charge, which is a separate contract<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p>The NMC lists visa, flights and UK travel as excluded. The other items are our reminder of costs that sit outside NMC fees; the NMC&#8217;s page does not itemise them.<\/p>\n<h2 id=\"s4\">Budgeting, step by step<\/h2>\n<ol class=\"steps\">\n<li>Start from the NMC costs page and write the four fees in your own budget.<\/li>\n<li>Add resit allowances you are comfortable with, because a failed station means paying again.<\/li>\n<li>Add travel, accommodation and immigration costs from the relevant official pages.<\/li>\n<li>Ask any recruiter to put in writing which charges are theirs and which go to the NMC or the test provider.<\/li>\n<li>Pay NMC fees through the NMC&#8217;s own application, not through a third party.<\/li>\n<\/ol>\n<h2 id=\"s5\">Using the figures to test an agent<\/h2>\n<p>An agent who quotes a &ldquo;registration package&rdquo; far above the published numbers should be able to say what each pound buys. Recruiters may legitimately charge for their own services, but nobody can sell you registration or a pass. If an offer involves a fee to hold a place, payment to a personal account or a promise of a result, read <a href=\"\/uk\/overseas-nurse-recruitment-scams\/\">overseas nurse recruitment scams<\/a>. For the steps behind the fees see <a href=\"\/uk\/nmc-registration-for-overseas-nurses\/\">NMC registration for overseas nurses<\/a>.<\/p>\n<h2 id=\"faq\">Frequently asked questions<\/h2>\n<details>\n<summary>How much does NMC registration cost for overseas nurses?<\/summary>\n<p>The NMC&#8217;s costs page gives \u00a31,226 in total: \u00a3167 qualification evaluation, \u00a383 CBT, \u00a3794 OSCE and \u00a3182 registration. It applies to people who need the Test of Competence and excludes visa, flights and UK travel. The NMC says fees rose on 1 October 2026, the first increase in registration fees for 11 years.<\/p>\n<\/details>\n<details>\n<summary>Is the qualification evaluation fee refundable?<\/summary>\n<p>No. The NMC costs page says the \u00a3167 qualification evaluation fee is non-refundable. The registration fee of \u00a3182 can be refunded in certain circumstances, which the page does not set out in detail. Budget for it as money you will not get back even if your application stops there.<\/p>\n<\/details>\n<details>\n<summary>Why do I see different totals online?<\/summary>\n<p>Fees changed on 1 October 2026. Older NMC pages still show \u00a3140 for the evaluation, \u00a3153 for registration and a \u00a31,170 total. Third-party sites copy both sets. Use the NMC costs page and note the date you read it. Always check the date on the page you rely on, and keep a dated copy for your own records.<\/p>\n<\/details>\n<details>\n<summary>Who do I pay the fees to?<\/summary>\n<p>The NMC receives the qualification evaluation and registration fees. The CBT and OSCE fees go to the test provider. A recruiter can charge for its own services, but should be able to say which charges are theirs. Ask for any other charge to be itemised in writing before you agree to pay it.<\/p>\n<\/details>\n<details>\n<summary>What happens if I need to resit?<\/summary>\n<p>Resits cost extra. A full CBT resit is \u00a383 and a partial one \u00a350 to \u00a370. A full OSCE resit is \u00a3794 and a partial one \u00a3397, and a full OSCE resit applies if you fail eight or more stations. Budget for at least some resit risk, because a single failed station can mean paying again.<\/p>\n<\/details>\n<div class=\"related\">\n<h2>Keep reading<\/h2>\n<ul>\n<li><a href=\"\/uk\/nmc-registration-for-overseas-nurses\/\">NMC registration for overseas nurses<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"\/uk\/overseas-nurse-recruitment-scams\/\">Overseas nurse recruitment scams<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"\/uk\/qualification-scams\/\">All qualification scams<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"\/uk\/nclex-uk-nursing\/\">NCLEX and UK nursing<\/a><\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<\/div>\n<div class=\"sources\">\n<h2>Sources and official links<\/h2>\n<ul>\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/www.nmc.org.uk\/registration\/joining-the-register\/register-nurse-midwife\/trained-outside-uk\/how-to-guide\/check-ready\/costs\/\" rel=\"noopener nofollow\" target=\"_blank\">NMC: how much is it going to cost?<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/www.nmc.org.uk\/registration\/joining-the-register\/toc\/toc-nursing-and-midwifery\/\" rel=\"noopener nofollow\" target=\"_blank\">NMC: Test of Competence for nurses and midwives<\/a><\/li>\n<li><a href=\"https:\/\/www.nmc.org.uk\/registration\/information-for-internationally-trained-applicants\/\" rel=\"noopener nofollow\" target=\"_blank\">NMC: information for internationally trained applicants<\/a><\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<\/div>\n<div class=\"author\"><strong>About the author<\/strong><br \/>Written by <a href=\"\/uk\/authors\/\">Mark Dent<\/a> from official GOV.UK guidance, UK legislation and public reporting. We do not sell, issue or arrange any licence or document, and we are not part of DVLA, DVSA or any government body. See our <a href=\"\/uk\/editorial-policy\/\">editorial policy<\/a> or <a href=\"\/uk\/contact\/\">report a mistake<\/a>.<\/div>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Home \u203a NMC registration cost The real route What NMC registration costs for overseas nurses Short answer: The NMC&#8217;s costs page shows a total of \u00a31,226 for the overseas route from 1 October 2026 (checked 4 October 2026). That is qualification evaluation \u00a3167, CBT \u00a383, OSCE \u00a3794 and the registration fee \u00a3182. It excludes visa, [&hellip;]<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":0,"parent":0,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","template":"truthdocuments-guide","meta":{"footnotes":""},"class_list":["post-7342","page","type-page","status-publish","hentry"],"_hostinger_reach_plugin_has_subscription_block":false,"_hostinger_reach_plugin_is_elementor":false,"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/7342","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/page"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=7342"}],"version-history":[{"count":1,"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/7342\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":7980,"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/7342\/revisions\/7980"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/truthdocuments.com\/uk\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=7342"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}